Pattern Luck and Fabric Frustration

Last night, I rummaged through a mess of things in the spare room. Next to my seldom used sewing a machine, a birthday gift from my dad, is a giant box of stuff. Stuff, as in pieces of patterns, remnants of fabrics, and failed sewing attempts but in this box of stuff there was a fabulous find. You see, making my own show clothes is not a new idea for me, I’ve always wanted to give it a shot but have always feared my lack of sewing knowledge. I did make my own ultra suede chaps one year. They turned out relatively wearable. Anyway, my fabulous find was my unused show shirt pattern from Suitability. This is going to save me the approximate $20.00 it would have cost to buy the pattern. I was to say the least ecstatic that I found the pattern.

Unfortunately, my joy was short-lived. This morning when I logged into eBay prepared to buy the fabric I had finally settled on, it had sold. Now, I am having to start over in my search for finding a fabric which I really like and can get the right yardage for. I’ve planned to get a little extra, knowing at some point I’m going to screw something up.

While waiting for the perfect fabric, I’ve had some brilliant ideas (at least I think so) about other things to help cut costs for this show season. I will soon be sharing some of those ideas! They will be along the lines of house-hold products to use in the barn, and ways to spruce up a work saddle when you can’t afford a show saddle!

4 responses to “Pattern Luck and Fabric Frustration

  1. Great blog! I look forward to reading more! What kind of horses do you show?

  2. Just an FYI on the suitability patterns…they run extremely small so be sure to measure very carefully! Good luck with your project!

  3. Hey try lookiang at spandex world and there is another one i think with spandex in it for fabric! the spandex stuff works great and stays alitttle cooler then those heavy fabrics! and you can even get stuff on clearance that is pretty cool fabric!

Leave a Reply

