It’s Hot Out There!

As I sit in the freezing office of the lab tediously waiting for tissue to process, I’m wondering if it feels as hot as it looks outside. The temp on my computer says 91, but I bet it feels worse! I’m planning to get my mare out to the local open show this Saturday and I hope it’s not going to be so hot. Horse showing is great but having to wear long sleeves and chaps is miserable in the heat. There is always the battle to stay cool and look cool at Summer shows. Melting makeup is an annoying problem while trying to look your best. I recently read an article by Brittany Bevis, a blogger for Equine Chronicle, called For Ladies Only: A How-To Guide For Finding the Best Horse Show Makeup. It has some great ideas of how to beat makeup meltdowns. The only fault I could find was the makeup choices were on the pricey side. When it’s really hot I keep show makeup simple because honestly, when it comes down to it, a judge isn’t going to place you last because you don’t have a ton of makeup on (and it beats trotting up to a judge for showmanship with racoon eyes!)

Leave a Reply

