Getting What You Want

The expenses of owning horses is daunting sometimes, especially when it is a struggle just to pay board, but that doesn’t mean you can’t get what you want. Like everything when it comes to horses, you just need patience. I’m pretty sure you know by now, if you’ve read earlier posts, I am a fan of lists.

Last night while staring longingly at my “Horse Stuff” wish list I came up with a plan. I think it will work for me and it may work for you too. Each month I will buy one thing on that list. Starting with things that I absolutely need or whatever I can afford (it may only be a curry comb)!

I can save for the more expensive things or at least plan for them (even though there are a couple of way too expensive dream things on my list that I will never buy). It’s a good way to achieve goals of getting a new show outfit, tack…whatever without being overwhelming. Plus, I have something to look forward to each month.

It’s kind of a good tactic to use riding and showing too. Make a list of goals and start with the most attainable one. If your horse needs a lot of work to get into the show ring start with a basic concept to work on and perfect before moving on to the next level. For me, not only do I have to work out a few things with Tango, but I have to figure out how to afford showing. This year breed shows are looking too far out of my reach, but I still want to show. So, my goal is to get to some inexpensive open shows and work my way to the breed shows next year or if I can afford one!

One response to “Getting What You Want

  1. Pingback: One Thing | The College Horseman

Leave a Reply

