Finishing Touches: Accessories & Makeup for the Show Pen

I see a lot of different styles when it comes to the personal touches beyond show clothes. Some girls where no makeup while others really cake it on, no jewelry, some jewelry, neutral nails and the totally manicured. So, what of it? When I was growing up, I was told to not wear nail polish and that my nails were to be neat and clean or wear gloves. I don’t really stand by that now. I do however stand by, that if you’re not going to wear gloves your nails should be neat, neutral or at least complement your outfit. 

I recommend using O.P.I. nail polish for showing, it’s durable and comes in a huge variety of neutral colors (making it easy to find one you like!) The only draw back is the price! You can find a lot of other neutral nail colors for less at your local drugstore, I also really like Forever 21‘s selection of neutral polishes.

As far as makeup goes, I don’t wear a lot on a day-to-day basis so when I want to glam up for a horse show I don’t always have the makeup I need, but I also don’t want to spend a lot on it. I love E.L.F. products. They range in price from $1 to $5 with everything you need! Their products are especially great if you don’t wear makeup normally but want to for shows. My number one tip for horse show makeup: Don’t over do it. You want to enhance your features not look like a clown. Evening makeup is what you’re going for and to compliment your overall appearance.

Finally, my favorite, jewelry! This can get pricey quick but it’s a great way to add sparkle to your look without buying expensive jackets dripping with crystal or taking the time to add your own. Pretty much anything goes for this, but remember to not over do it and to not wear any dangling earrings. I like Forever 21 for earrings because they have a lot of great ones for under $4 (even sets!) Since they aren’t made of precious metal and stones, if you lose one (which happens a lot while showing) it’s not a huge loss. You can also find a lot of pretty costume jewelry at antique stores.

Just remember the goal with accessories is not to distract or draw attention to things like active hands (with a lot of rings and bright nail polish) or a bouncy, oddly moving horse with dangling earrings and necklaces flopping around (uncomfortable any way!). You want to enhance your overall finished, polished appearance! Be sure to still have fun with it and add your own uniqueness!

Leave a Reply

