Moving On…

It’s been a nutty week. Midweek, I received a note that the barn I currently keep my horses at is closing. It was shocking to say the least, considering I had no clue it was coming and also because friends mine had just made arrangements to move their pony there for the winter.

Given the time of year  and approaching winter, a new barn hunt needed to start immediately. I’ve been searching the internet and talking to a lot of people hunting down a new place for my horses.

I also had to make a list of what’s important to me in making my decision. These four things are most important to me

  1. Price. I am a college student already stretched to my limit with money, of course it’s a factor.
  2. Proximity. If I’m going to pay more, I want it close to home. Actually, I just want it close to home anyway!
  3. Facilities. I require, and indoor, big clean stalls, and place to turn them out! Added bonus if there’s a pasture board for Milo.
  4. Feeling. You know you gotta have a good feeling about the people who are going to be taking care of your animals. I look for people who are knowledgeable, dedicated, laid back, and with good communication skills!

So, we’ve been meeting potential folks and enjoying every moment! I really love meeting other horse people and making new contacts! The search is going well and I should have my absolute final decision by this afternoon. I will share with you when we decide my new barn!

and maybe, I’ll get to a “Sunday Steal” post.

Leave a Reply

