Summer Goals & Getting in Shape

I am terrible about exercise and eating right. I hate running, or anything that seems like exercise. I get really bored, really fast. As far as eating goes…if it’s any food other than mushrooms or peas, I will probably eat it; from leafy spinach and Brussels sprouts to potato chips and doughnuts. This makes getting in shape and eating healthy a real challenge. I’ve managed to not gain any weight in the last couple of years but I haven’t lost any either. My show clothes are still too tight and going out of style.

Big goals, like I want to be a certain weight or I’m going to ride an hour every single day, just don’t work for me. When I screw up, I give up. I need goals that are fun. This summer getting in shape is a priority (as I always say…) but so are few things that will be fun to work towards. 1. Being able to jump on Tango bareback. I used to be able to do this with Milo who is a quite a bit taller. I tried it with Tango the other day and only made it half way up before I felt like I had pulled every muscle in my legs. Ouch.

So I need to work on my legs, which I should being doing anyway to improve my riding skills. I’m lazy. Running isn’t going to happen on regular basis. Riding helps, but some days I can’t get to the barn. Thanks to Pinterest though, I’ve found a couple of sets of leg workout that feel good, actually work, and I don’t mind doing every day. I even do them twice a day on occasion. The stretching that goes into the exercises really feels good after sitting in the lab all day or after a tough ride. Here’s what I’ve been doing:

I’ve just started looking into the “Blogilaties” channel on Youtube, after discovering it for the first time literally 4 minutes ago. It looks helpful! I’ll have to examine it closer. Anyway, try the two sets I’ve listed for a couple of weeks. I’ve noticed a difference! Oh and I have other goals too…like riding more and showing. I’ll get to those later, though.

 

Leave a Reply

